top of page

NEW FIND: Bauhaus. In The Flat Field


Bauhaus, In The Flat Field, 1980

Full Album: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YNt0XD-F7kk&list=PL4mNtBlfTb9UN0tivJLyAVb2LRPvtz8z2

Not exactly a new find, but I have recently re-visited this album. Bauhaus for me has to be considered as one of the most successful post punk groups within the 80's but I do have to disagree with their other projects hailing from the late 90's which berried the overall group.

Knowing that this is their first full album project is surprising to me has the whole group is hailing from Northampton in the late 70's (1978). Whilst Post Punk and Gothic Rock was in the first development stages of acts from the demising past of traditional Punk.

Not only is the overall background of the group surprising to me (as first of all I thought that the band was originated in the early 90's) is the overall use of their name referencing the German creative institution Bauhaus. Although this is questionable, I believe the adaptation of the name is the overall approach of their genre. Taking back what punk was within its original form and repurposing it for another cultural change.

Bauhaus German Creative Institute

bottom of page