top of page

NEW FIND: Deafheaven, Sunbather.


This past month I have had my earlobes drilled by Deafheavens first studio album 'Sunbather'. To the point where I want to pick up an amp hook it up to a mic and lash everything insight of my studio. Jokes aside this album is a beauty of noise and rhythm with parts of the album having smooth melodic starts and skull bashing ends to tracks of 8 minutes long. A studio classic for painting or doing the odd ball boring jobs on illustrator this thing will bash your head in and get the work done fast.

The only few instances where I was mislead by an album cover was to sunbather, thinking that this was just another smooth jazz alternative contemporary hipster album. I was proven completely wrong and I can see as to how the album art has translated to the content and context of the album.

How do you represent smooth rhythm whilst having your head bashed in by a 20 ton truck?

Pink colour gradient with some seductive light serif type is the minimalist answer.

But this was carried on further within the vinyl pressing of sunbather, with the cover having a dye cut center 'A' on the front cover of the package, revealing the coloured LP from underneath I thought was a nice and minimalist touch to the package making the urgency to getting this even more.

If your interested in the project then here's a full album upload on youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GfbLWHT7vUU

bottom of page